Artur Hilgenberg, M.A.

Contact

Graduate School for East and Southeast European Studies
Universität Regensburg
Landshuter Str. 4

D-93047 Regensburg

Tel.: +49 (0)941 / 943 - 5339
Email

Doctoral Project

The Communal Land Tenure of the Don Cossacks. Origins and Evolution till 1835

The Don Cossacks have left a deep impact in Russian history. By participating in the wars of Muscovy and of the Russian Empire they made a major contribution to the expansion of the Czardom. From the ranks of the Don Host however, have also risen such famous rebel leaders like Stepan Razin and Emel'jan Pugačev, who shook the foundations of Czarist power with their bloody uprisings. In comparison to such military highlights, the economic and social life of the Don Cossacks played only a minor role in historiography.

The economical basis of the Don Cossacks was their land, which was granted to them by the Czars for their military service. It is all the more remarkable, that the Don Cossack did not individually own his land, but collectively with the other members of his community, the so called stanica. The Statute of the Don Host from the year 1835, in reliance upon allegedly already existing traditional norms, declared the transfer of Cossack land into private property to be illegal and regulated the use of the common soil as follows: pastures had to be used collectively, whereas the croplands and the hayfields had to be divided among the community members for individual use. Therefore, the communal land tenure of the Don Cossacks appears at initial examination to be a direct analogy to the agricultural commune of the Russian peasantry. In regard to the redistributional commune of the peasants, which is known as mir, it can be said, that its formation was caused by the introduction of the poll tax under Peter the Great and by the collective responsibility of the peasants for tax payments and feudal duties. The origins of the communal land tenure of the Cossacks however, cannot be explained by fiscal reasons, because the Cossacks were tax-exempt. Starting with this problem I pose in my PhD project following question: What factors led to the formation of the communal land tenure of the Don Cossacks and how did it evolve to the point of its codification in 1835?

Curriculum Vitae

Born in 1990 in Dsheskasgan/Kazakhstan. Studied history at Leipzig University from 2010 to 2017; title of the master thesis: "The Soviet Economic Reform of 1965-1970. A Chance for Renewal or a Dead End?". Since November 2017 doctoral student at the Graduate School for East and Southeast European Studies.

Positions, Assignments and Memberships

 

Artur Hilgenberg, M.A.

Artur Hilgenberg, M.A.

Kontakt

Graduiertenschule für Ost- und Südosteuropastudien
Universität Regensburg
Landshuter Str. 4
D-93047 Regensburg
Tel.: +49 (0)941 / 943 - 5339

Promotionsprojekt

Der Gemeindebesitz der Donkosaken. Entstehung und Entwicklung bis 1835

Die Donkosaken haben eine tiefe Spur in der russischen Geschichte hinterlassen. Durch die Teilnahme an den Kriegen des Moskauer Staates und des Russländischen Imperiums trugen die Donkosaken nicht unwesentlich zur Expansion des Zarenreiches bei. Aus den Reihen des Don-Heeres entstammten aber auch solche berühmten Rebellenführer wie Stepan Razin und Emel'jan Pugačev, die mit blutigen Aufständen die Grundfesten der Zarenherrschaft erschütterten. Im Vergleich zu solchen militärischen Höhepunkten spielte jedoch das wirtschaftliche und soziale Zusammenleben der Donkosaken in der Geschichtsschreibung eine eher untergeordnete Rolle.

Die ökonomische Grundlage der Donkosaken bildete ihr Grundbesitz, der ihnen als Entlohnung für ihre militärischen Dienste vom Zaren zugesprochen wurde.  Umso bemerkenswerter ist die Tatsache, dass der einzelne Donkosak nicht individuell über sein Land verfügte, sondern gemeinsam mit den anderen Mitgliedern seiner Gemeinde, der sogenannten Stanica. Das Statut des Don-Heeres aus dem Jahre 1835, unter Berufung auf angeblich bereits bestehende, althergebrachte Normen, verbot den Übergang von Kosakenland in Privateigentum und regelte die Verwendung des Gemeindebodens der einzelnen Stanicy folgendermaßen: das Wiesenland unterlag der gemeinsamen Verwendung, während das Ackerland und die Heuschläge unter den einzelnen Gemeindemitgliedern zur individuellen Nutzung aufgeteilt wurden. Somit bildete der Gemeindebesitz der Donkosaken auf den ersten Blick eine direkte Analogie zur Feldgemeinschaft der russischen Bauern. Bezüglich dieser bäuerlichen Umteilungsgemeinde, die als mir bekannt ist, kann gesagt werden, dass sie im Wesentlichen aufgrund der Einführung der Kopfsteuer durch Peter den Großen und der Kollektivhaftung der Bauern für Steuerzahlungen und Feudallasten entstanden ist. Die Entstehung des kosakischen Gemeindebesitzes kann jedoch nicht durch fiskalische Ursachen erklärt werden, da die Kosaken nicht steuerpflichtig waren. Ausgehend von diesem Problem, stelle ich mir in meinem Dissertationsprojekt die Frage, welche Faktoren zur Entstehung des Gemeindebesitzes der Donkosaken geführt haben und wie er sich bis zu seiner Kodifizierung im Jahre 1835 entwickelte?

Curriculum Vitae

Geboren 1990 in Dsheskasgan/Kasachstan. Von 2010 bis 2017 Geschichtsstudium an der Universität Leipzig; Thema der Masterarbeit: "Die sowjetische Wirtschaftsreform 1965-1970. Chance zur Erneuerung oder Sackgasse?". Seit November 2017 Promotionsstipendiat der Graduiertenschule für Ost- und Südosteuropastudien.

Funktionen und Mitgliedschaften

Artur Hilgenberg, M.A.