Kai Johann Willms, M.A.

Contact

Graduiertenschule für Ost- und Südosteuropastudien
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Maria-Theresia-Straße 21
D-81675 München

Tel.: +49 (0)89 / 2180 - 9592
Email

Doctoral project

Historians as Mediators of Cultural Transfer. Polish Historiography in American Exile, 1939–1989

The growth of transnational ties is not only an object of historical research, it also has a formative influence on the process of historical writing itself. So far, however, the framework for the history of historiography has mostly been the nation state. The project therefore sheds light on a group whose work can be understood as an ideal subject of investigation for a transnational history of historiography: Polish historians who, as a result of the occupation of Poland in the Second World War or as a result of the Communist takeover thereafter, had emigrated to the United States. Those, according to the project’s guiding hypothesis, acted as mediators of a cultural transfer: On the one hand, they selectively adopted methods and concepts of their new academic environment, thereby transforming their image of Polish history. On the other hand, as experts in the context of the Cold War, they exerted influence on the American image of Eastern Europe. By analyzing this transfer, the project examines the significance of intellectual border crossers in the Cold War and raises the question to what extent historiographical production is facilitated as well as limited by the writers’ social context.

Curriculum Vitae

2010 to 2013 B.A. studies in History and Political Science in Freiburg, 2014 to 2016 M.A. studies in Modern European History in Berlin and Warsaw. 2016 Master’s thesis on the topic "'Détente' versus 'Solidarity'? Media Representations and Political Resonances of the Polish Crisis 1980–1983 in the Federal Republic of Germany", winning the Johann Gustav Droysen Prize of the Department of History at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. 2011 to 2016 scholarship holder of the German Academic Scholarship Foundation, 2012/2013 student assistant at the Chair of Modern and Eastern European History of the University of Freiburg. Since December 2016 research assistant at the Institute for the Culture and History of the Germans in Northeastern Europe, Lüneburg; from April to September 2017 scholarship holder of the Humboldt Research Track Scholarship. Since November 2017 member of the Graduate School for East and Southeast European Studies.

Positions, Assignments and Memberships

Publications

Articles and Book Chapters

With Martin Wagner, Susanne Quitmann und Helge Jonas Pösche: Die Atombombenabwürfe auf Nagasaki und Hiroshima im August 1945: "Global Moments"? Teil 1. In: Zeitgeschichte online (13.04.2017). URL: http://www.zeitgeschichte-online.de/thema/die-atombombenabwuerfe.

Further Publications

Zus. mit Jane Freeland: Physical Violence and State Legitimacy in Late Socialism – Final Conference, 27.02.2014–01.03.2014, Berlin. In: H-Soz-Kult (23.06.2014). URL: http://www.hsozkult.de/conferencereport/id/tagungsberichte-5436.

Biopower and Physical Violence – Embodied Experiences in Communist Europe, 24.01.2014, Potsdam. In: H-Soz-Kult (15.04.2014). URL: http://www.hsozkult.de/conferencereport/id/tagungsberichte-5308.

Kai Johann Willms, M.A.

Kontakt

Graduiertenschule für Ost- und Südosteuropastudien
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Maria-Theresia-Straße 21
D-81675 München
Tel.: +49 (0)89 / 2180 - 1330
E-Mail

Promotionsprojekt

Agenten des Kulturtransfers. Polnische Emigranten in der amerikanischen Osteuropaforschung, 1939–1989

Der Beginn des Kalten Krieges stellte die politischen Entscheidungsträger der USA vor eine Herausforderung: Bis zum Zweiten Weltkrieg war Osteuropa im amerikanischen Wissenschaftsbetrieb ein randständiges Forschungsgebiet gewesen. Um diesem Mangel an Expertise zu begegnen, wurden neue Institute und Forschungszentren für Osteuropastudien ins Leben gerufen und finanziell großzügig ausgestattet. In Ermangelung einheimischer Experten stellten emigrierte Wissenschaftler aus Mittel- und Osteuropa eine wertvolle Ressource dar. Viele Emigranten nahmen diese Karrierechancen dankbar an, beschränkten sich jedoch nicht auf eine Rolle als Wissenslieferanten für die amerikanische Politik; in vielen Fällen verfolgten sie eine eigene Agenda. Aus Polen emigrierte Wissenschaftler gründeten bereits während des Zweiten Weltkriegs Institutionen und knüpften transnationale Netzwerke, um ihre eigenen historischen Narrative und mental maps in den Öffentlichkeiten des Westens zu verbreiten.

Anknüpfend an jüngste Forschungen zur Bedeutung von Migration für die Produktion und Zirkulation von Wissen und Ideen, untersucht das Projekt die Rolle der aus Polen in die USA emigrierten Wissenschaftler als Agenten eines Kulturtransfers: Welche Wirkung konnten sie im Rahmen des Ost-West-Konflikts auf das amerikanische Osteuropabild ausüben? Inwiefern eigneten sie sich, indem sie sich in der amerikanischen Gesellschaft akkulturierten, Ideen und Wissensbestände ihrer neuen Umgebung an? Wie wurde das Wirken der polnischen Emigranten vor und nach 1989 im polnischen Inland rezipiert? Indem es diesen Fragen nachgeht, leistet das Projekt ebenso einen Beitrag zum Verständnis der Bedeutung intellektueller Grenzgänger im Ost-West-Konflikt wie zur Reflexion über die epistemologische Frage, welche Relevanz der soziale Kontext für wissenschaftliche Erkenntnis besitzt.

Curriculum Vitae

Studium der Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft in Freiburg sowie der Modernen Europäischen Geschichte in Berlin und Warschau. 2016 Masterarbeit zum Thema "'Entspannung' versus 'Solidarität'? Mediale Repräsentationen und politische Resonanzen der polnischen Krise 1980–1983 in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland", ausgezeichnet mit dem Johann-Gustav-Droysen-Preis des Instituts für Geschichtswissenschaften an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. 2011 bis 2016 Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, 2012/13 studentische Hilfskraft am Lehrstuhl für Neuere und Osteuropäische Geschichte der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg. Seit Dezember 2016 wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Institut für Kultur und Geschichte der Deutschen in Nordosteuropa, Lüneburg; zwischen April und September 2017 Humboldt Research Track Scholarship, gefördert aus Mitteln der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative von Bund und Ländern. Seit November 2017 Mitglied der Graduiertenschule für Ost- und Südosteuropastudien.

Funktionen und Mitgliedschaften

Publikationen

Aufsätze in Zeitschriften und Sammelbänden

Zus. mit Martin Wagner / Susanne Quitmann / Helge Jonas Pösche: Die Atombombenabwürfe auf Nagasaki und Hiroshima im August 1945: "Global Moments"? Teil 1. In: Zeitgeschichte online, 13.04.2017.

Weitere Veröffentlichungen

Zus. mit Jane Freeland: Physical Violence and State Legitimacy in Late Socialism – Final Conference, 27.02.2014–01.03.2014, Berlin. In: H-Soz-Kult, 23.06.2014.

Biopower and Physical Violence – Embodied Experiences in Communist Europe, 24.01.2014, Potsdam. In: H-Soz-Kult, 15.04.2014. 

Vorträge (Auswahl)

2018

„Area Studies und migrantisches Wissen. Polnische Exilanten in der amerikanischen Osteuropaforschung nach 1945“. (Tagung „Dynamiken des Wissens. Historische Perspektiven auf das Verhältnis von Wissen und Migration vom 20. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart“, Berlin, 2.5.–3.5.2018).

"An Old Stereotype in a New Environment? The Impact of Polish Émigré Scholars on American Sovietology after 1945" (Jahrestagung der Graduiertenschule für Ost- und Südosteuropastudien "Studying East and Southeast Europe as Area Studies: Paradigms - Themes - Methods for the 21st Century", München, 25.-27.10.2018)

„Constructing (East) Central Europe in Exile: The Scholarly and Political Activities of Polish Émigré Scholars in the US after 1945“ (Vortrag auf der Konferenz "(De-)constructing Central Europe: From Mitteleuropa to Visions of a Common Europe, 1918–2018", 18.-20. Oktober 2018 in Frankfurt (Oder)/Slubice)

Kai Willms