Migration, Transfers, Cultural Contact

Group leaders: Professor Ulf Brunnbauer, Professor Björn Hansen

The study group comprises doctoral students, postdocs and principal investigators from two disciplines: history and linguistics. Our main points of interest are the encounters of(and the transfers between)people, cultures and languages. Encounters bring about communication as well as miscommunication, increase as well as loss of shared information. Failed recognition of a common historical experience (often a result of miscommunication), or conversely, recognition and consolidation around common experience, has direct impact on the preservation or disintegration of cultural and linguistic identifications.

Cases of information loss are for example fading migrant memories, obsolescence of traditional cultural practices or reduction and loss of grammatical categories in language contact. A process of information reduction may, however, give rise to new complex phenomena as well. Examples from linguistics are the innovations occurring in the grammar of semi-speakers of dying languages. In migration contexts, the detachment from the original cultural and social context is often linked to the emergence of new identifications and patterns of interaction. Furthermore, cultural and linguistic transfers often bring as a counter-reaction conscious revitalization and renewal attempts; examples include deriving novel identity anchors on the basis of shared fragments of common memory, imagining of stable though trans-territorial “national bodies” or introducing new grammatical structures on the basis of archaic or reconstructed forms.

As historians and linguists we merge our expertise and strive for synergy as regards both theory and practice. The practical consideration behind our cooperation includes exchanging methodological know-how (e.g. data extraction, sampling, reductionist techniques, patterns of logical reasoning, and methods for identification of recurrent patterns). The theoretical interfaces between our disciplines and individual research projects include issues related to complexity, illocutionary acts and performativity (both in narrative discourse and grammar), as well as common interest for those cognitive capacities that are crucial in information processing, reduction and renewal.

Migration, Transfers, Kulturkontakt (bis 06/2018)

Ehemalige Leiter: Prof. Dr. Ulf Brunnbauer, Prof. Dr. Björn Hansen

Die Studiengruppe bestand aus Doktoranden, Postdocs und Principal Investigators aus zwei Disziplinen: Geschichte und Linguistik. Die Interessensschwerpunkte lagen auf den Begegnungen (und den Transfers) von Menschen, Kulturen und Sprachen. Begegnungen gehen mit Austausch sowie Missverständnissen einher, mit der Vermehrung und dem Verlust geteilter Informationen. Nicht erkannte gemeinsame historische Erfahrungen (oft eine Folge von Missverständnissen) oder umgekehrt die Anerkennung und Konsolidierung um eine gemeinsame Erfahrung herum, haben direkte Auswirkungen auf die Bewahrung oder den Zerfall kultureller und linguistischer Identifikationen.

Fälle von Informationsverlust sind zum Beispiel verblassende Erinnerungen von Migranten, Überalterung traditioneller kultureller Praktiken oder Reduktion und Verlust von grammatischen Kategorien im Sprachkontakt. Ein Prozess der Informationsreduktion kann jedoch auch zu neuen komplexen Phänomenen führen. Beispiele aus der Linguistik sind die Neuerungen in der Grammatik von „Semi-Speakers“ aussterbender Sprachen. Im Kontext von Migrationen ist die Loslösung vom ursprünglichen kulturellen und sozialen Kontext oft mit der Entstehung neuer Identifikationen und Interaktionsmuster verbunden. Darüber hinaus bringen kulturelle und sprachliche Transfers oft als Gegenreaktion bewusste Revitalisierungs- und Erneuerungsversuche mit sich; Beispiele hierfür sind die Herleitung neuer Identitätsanker auf der Basis gemeinsamer Erinnerungsfragmente, die Vorstellung stabiler, aber transterritorialer „nationaler Körper“ oder die Einführung neuer grammatikalischer Strukturen auf der Basis archaischer oder rekonstruierter Formen.

Als Historiker und Linguisten haben wir unsere Expertise verbunden, um Synergieeffekte in Theorie und Praxis zu erreichen. Die praktische Überlegung, die hinter unserer Zusammenarbeit stand, beinhaltete den Austausch von methodischem Know-How (z. B. Datenextraktion, Stichproben, reduktionistischen Techniken, logischen Argumentationsmustern und Methoden zur Identifizierung wiederkehrender Muster). Die theoretischen Schnittstellen zwischen unseren Disziplinen und den einzelnen Forschungsprojekten umfassten Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Komplexität, illokutionären Handlungen und Performativität (sowohl im narrativen Diskurs als auch in der Grammatik) sowie das gemeinsame Interesse für jene kognitiven Fähigkeiten, die für die Informationsverarbeitung, Reduktion und Erneuerung von entscheidender Bedeutung sind.

Vergangene Aktivitäten ...

Ehemalige Mitglieder:

Katharina Anna Aubele, M.A.

Kathleen Beger, M.A.

Dr. Beate Feldmeier, Dipl.-Math.

Petar Kehayov, Ph.D. habil.

Dr. Friederike Kind-Kovács

Henner Kropp, M.A.

Ana-Teodora Kurkina, M.A.

Bajro Murić, M.A.

Jakub Sawicki, M.A.

Dr. Karina Shyrokykh

Oana-Valentina Sorescu-Iudean, M.A.

Sophie Straube, M.A.

Dr. Jasper Trautsch

Dóra Vuk, M.A.

Veronika Wald, M.A.

Kai Johann Willms, M.A.